The six winning local government units in the Digital Governance Awards (DGA) 2019 were awarded an all-expenses-paid trip to Huawei’s headquarters in China for an international learning program on digital governance.

“This year, Huawei Philippines is proud to give six top-winning LGUs the international learning program for digital governance, or the i-LEAP for digital governance award,” said Karrie Buenafe, head of Huawei Philippines corporate communications, during the event held on Tuesday.

Buenafe named five LGUs that were given the award — the province of Aklan for winning the “Best in eGOV Digital Finance Empowerment” (G2P) category, the City of Makati for winning the “Best in eGOV Customer Empowerment” (G2C) category, the City of Cauayan, Isabela for winning the “Best in eGOV Government Inter-Operability Empowerment” (G2G) award, the City of Baguio for winning the “Best in eGOV Systems for Global Competitiveness” (G2W) category, and the Municipality of Mina, Iloilo for winning the “Best in eGOV Business Empowerment” (G2B) award.

Aside from the LGUs which won the educational trip to China, several LGUs in the municipal, city, and provincial levels were also given awards for achievements in the digitalization and modernization of their governments.

For the “Best in eGOV Data-Driven Governance” (D2G) category, the Municipality of Dulag, Leyte won for its Digitize Dulag (Digi-Du) project, the City of Parañaque for its Integrated Occupational Permit System, and the Province of Batangas for its Geographical Information Systems for Electronic Real Property Taxation and Assessment.

In the G2P category, the municipality of Cavinti, Laguna won for its Cavinti Tourism and Event Management System, the City of Legazpi won for its Online Payment Portal for Real Property and Business Taxes, and the province of Aklan for its integration of ETRACS and Access Gate System in Caticlan and Cagban Passenger Terminals and Jetty Ports.

In the G2C category, the municipality of Boac, Marinduque won for its BOAC TELERAD, the City of Makati for its “Makatizen Card” project, and the province of Laguna for its Queuing Management System.

In the G2G category, the municipality of Baliwag, Bulacan won for its Baliwag Emergency and Assistance Management System, the city of Cauayan, Isabela for its Barangay Centralized Wireless Network, and the province of Compostela Valley for its Document Management System.

In the G2W category, the municipality of Baliwag, Bulacan won for its Baliwag Integrated Profiling System, the city of Baguio for its Electronic Budget Operations and Monitoring System, and the province of Bataan for its Automated Performance Management System.

And in the G2B category, the municipality of Mina, Iloilo won for its Mina Municipal Agriculture Information System – Farmers Agriculture Resource Management System, the City of Calapan for its Business Registration Information System Kiosk, and the province of Bataan for its HOTJOBS BATAAN Online Portal.

The DGA, which began in 2012 and was then called the eGOV Awards for LGUs, was the brainchild of the National Information and Communications Technology Confederation of the Philippines (NICP), in partnership with the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) and the Cyber City Teleservices Philippines Inc.

The awards-giving event—organized this year by the Department of Information and Communications Technology, DILG, and the NICP—was developed to help stimulate eGovernance, particularly in the LGU-level, to enable LGUs to become “catalysts of change” based on the Philippines Digital Strategy and the Philippine ICT Roadmap 2011 – 2016. (Raymond Carl Dela Cruz, PNA)